Archive for September 20th, 2008|Daily archive page

verdict: the halo is a winner

My challenge for the week was to cultivate a ‘wide halo of ease and leisure’, inspired by the Thoreau quote in my last post.

What I did:    Reminded myself maybe five or six times a day  – simply saying the words ‘wide halo of ease and leisure’ to myself, picturing myself ‘sauntering to my task’, then consciously relaxing. That’s all.  Oh, and I had a living example to provide further inspiration – greyhounds are ‘ease and leisure’ jedi masters.

Horse demonstrating a wide halo of ease and leisure

Horse demonstrating a wide halo of ease and leisure

Was I efficient?    Probably slightly more than efficient as usual. Considering I have a lot of work on at the moment, this could have been a frantic week.  It wasn’t, and I achieved about 90% of what I intended to do.

The verdict:  A wide halo of ease and leisure is a better than a cloud of busy-ness.
A simple technique that may improve efficiency, and definitely improves the experience of working.